Over twenty-five years of achievement

The D. E. Shaw group has been recognized over a sustained period as a leader in the asset management community. Over the last decade, our firm has been nominated for or won over two dozen industry awards, including being honored as the “Institutional Hedge Fund Manager of the Year” in 2016 and “Multistrategy Hedge Fund Manager of the Year” in 2015 by Institutional Investor. Our founder received the Lifetime Achievement award in 2013 from Institutional Investor, which noted that he was "a pioneer in the hedge fund industry—advancing not just quantitative investing and the business of investment management but also, through his public service and contribution to science, the positive role of hedge fund managers to the broader community." Senior staff have been honored for professional achievement by publications and organizations including Institutional Investor, Crain's, and 100 Women in Hedge Funds. We also have been acknowledged for our achievements in technology development, with staff members named to Institutional Investor's 'Tech 50' list for seven consecutive years.

We take an active role in several important regulatory and industry trade group committees to promote best practices and engage on key policy matters. A number of our senior staff serve or have served as members of policy working groups assembled by regulatory authorities—including the Asset Managers' Committee of the President's Working Group on Financial Markets, the SEC Investor Advisory Committee, the CFTC Technology Advisory Committee, the CFTC Global Markets Advisory Committee, and the Treasury Borrowing Advisory Committee (TBAC)—and hold or have held significant leadership roles with the Managed Funds Association (MFA) and the International Swaps and Derivatives Association (ISDA).